OGSO Denied by Handling

Josh, an adult pro referee, asks:

Red defender handles the ball on the goal line to stop a goal. Immediately after, blue attacker scores from the rebound. The goal stands but is the defender red carded as well? Thanks

Answer (see also “Apology” posted on July 5)

Yes. ┬áThe 2016/2017 Laws of the Game states in Law 12: “Where a player denies the opposing team a goal or an obvious goal-scoring opportunity by a deliberate handball offence the player is sent off wherever the offence occurs. ” ┬áThis declaration remains true even if the attempt is unsuccessful (either directly or as the result of applying advantage).