Mick, an adult/pro referee, asks:
A substitute comes onto the field of play without the Ref’s permission and prevents a goal by kicking the ball out of the penalty area. What is the decision of the Ref with the new interpretations of the laws?
For the very first time, the Laws of the Game provide for a direct free kick or a penalty kick if a person other than a player commits an offense. In this case, we have a substitute illegally entering the field of play and interfering by kicking the ball away from a location within the penalty area. Since no goal was scored, the remedy is found in Law 3, section 7 (if a goal had been scored, we would used the remedies provided in Section 9). Summarizing the specified remedy, 12.7 requires that, since there had been interference, play must be stopped and resumed with a direct free kick or a penalty kick. Since the interference was inside the penalty area, the restart would be a penalty kick for the opposing team (we are presuming that the invading substitute was from the defending team since it would make little sense for an attacking team substitute to have kicked the ball away).
We have the restart now but what about misconduct? Let’s assume for the moment (though the specifically relevant elements of an OGSO scenario are completely missing from the question’s scenario) that we are, in fact, dealing with an OGSO. Unfortunately, even so, things are a bit murky and what follows is an unofficial interpretation and recommendation until such time (if any) that the IFAB clarifies the matter. We know that the invading substitute is subject to a caution (illegally entering the field) but is he or she subject to a red card for OGSO? We would have to report that the answer is unclear. Law 12 states that “a player, substitute or substituted player” who commits any of the following offenses is sent off and then lists 7 violations, the second one of which is “denying an obvious goal-scoring opportunity” so one would think that the answer would be, yes, the substitute could be shown a red card for kicking the ball out of the penalty area.
There are two problems with this red card. First, the OGSO card must arise from the commission of an offense punishable by a free kick “(unless as outlined below)” and what is “below” is a section of Law 12 which provides that an OGSO misconduct is not punished with a red card unless the offense is “holding, pulling or pushing” (which isn’t what happened) or the substitute “does not attempt to play the ball” (which he most assuredly does attempt, and succeeds) or the offense is one that would be “punishable by a red card wherever it occurs on the field” (it isn’t). Exactly what offense did the substitute commit? Only one — illegally entering the field. Kicking the ball is not itself an offense … and certainly not one that would earn a red card if committed anywhere on the field. Second, the section providing a more detailed explanation of an OGSO red card refers only to a player, not a substitute. And, as noted, this might not even be an OGSO situation in the first place if it is decided that merely kicking the ball is not an offense and/or not against an opponent (as opposed to, say, tripping or holding an opponent).
Now we move to a bit of speculation. Suppose the Referee decided that the substitute, while being on the field illegally, has committed unsporting behavior misconduct which is cautionable. Would this be unreasonable? What is included in “unsporting behavior”? According to Law 12, one example of unsporting behavior is “shows a lack of respect for the game” which would seem to provide a great deal of flexibility and might well include merely kicking the ball. If so, then the Referee could show the invading substitute a yellow card for illegally entering the field, a yellow card for unsporting behavior, a red card for having received a second yellow card … followed by a penalty kick restart.
As the French might say, “Voila!”…