Attacker A has beaten the 2LD and has only the GK between himself and the back of the net. Attacker A moves along the 18 in a fashion parallel to the goal line. GK “takes him out” (match referee’s description of the foul). Is this DGF (apart from possibility that it may also be SFP)?

USSF answer (November 12, 2008):
You don’t tell us if Attacker A has the ball. If he does, it might or it might not be denying an obvious goalscoring opportunity to an opponent moving towards the player’s goal by an offense punishable by a free kick or penalty kick (aka DGF). If the referee determines that the that the player was able to shoot — which is not clear from your question — then the correct call could be DGF. If not, there is always the possibility of serious foul play.

Leave a Reply