1. Why are there two DOGO’s?
Handling is also punishable by a free kick or penalty kick so wouldn’t dogf be sufficient?

2. Signal by AR for goal to by disallowed is to stand at attention with flag straight down, but doesn’t say anything about the signal after eye contact with CR. Why doesn’t AR follow the same procedure as signaling a foul or offside as soon as he see’s it? Standing at attention with flag straight down to signal a person interfering looks the same as a foul, but the restart is IFK, not DFK. It seems like a conference is needed to get the correct restart, when giving the signal as soon as it becomes an offense gives all the necessary information. I see no reason to wait to give the flag a waggle or indicate offside. Can you explain the reasoning?

USSF answer (April 30, 2009):
1. The International Board wanted to make it clear that these were two different situations in several important respects.  First, DG-H has a goalkeeper exception, DG-F does not.  Second, they use a different standard — DG-H = but for the handling, the ball would have gone into the net;; DG-F = in the opinion of the referee, the opportunity was disrupted.  Third, DG-H does not involve any of the “4 Ds” (they are applicable only to DH-F).  Fourth, DG-H applies to a substitute who has illegally entered the field, DG-F does not.

2. Yes. But we assume you want more than this clear and simple answer.

It is presumed that the referee will have seen enough of the events occurring just in front of the goal to differentiate among the three different possibilities for canceling a goal even though the ball is in the net (offside offense by the scorer, offside offense by a teammate of the scorer, foul by an attacker) and that the AR’s signal is primarily a further confirmation.  To that end, the procedure for the first is to signal the offside offense in the usual way but to simply stand still (“at attention”) for the other two.  The referee, seeing the latter signal, therefore knows that there are only two possibilities — offside offense by a teammate of the scorer or a foul by an attacker.  This is usually sufficient for most experienced referees.  If it is not for some reason, then the referee and AR can confer briefly.  As for differentiating between an indirect free kick versus a direct free kick restart for the two offenses indicated by the AR standing still, most experienced referees would again recognize that, so close to the defending team’s goal, it rarely matters which will occur.

Leave a Reply