A keeper goes up in the air and establishes control , grabbing a high ball with both hands, and then as he brings it down, it hits a head or shoulder of a defender who is making no overt play on the ball and the ball goes into the goal. Goal scored or indirect kick coming out?

USSF answer (May 30, 2009):
By “defender” you mean a teammate of the goalkeeper, right? If so, then score the goal. There is no reason to stop play or to award an indirect free kick if a teammate interferes with the goalkeeper’s ability to play the ball.

If it had been an opponent (not playing the ball, as you state) who interfered with the goalkeeper, then the award of an indirect free kick for the goalkeeper’s team would be justified in most cases. The referee would certainly not award a goal in this case.

Leave a Reply