What should be the proper call? U8 Girls game.

An attempt on goal by the opposing team. The goalie blocks the shot and picks up the ball. The ball and goalie never leave the penalty area.  She performs a drop kick that goes straight up in the air and lands in the penalty area. Can the goalie touch the ball again (foot or hand) before one of her teammates or does another player need to make contact with the ball first?

If there is a penalty for touching the ball before her teammates, what would be the proper call?

USSF answer (November 7, 2008):
Under the U8 rules published by U. S. Youth Soccer, there are no goalkeepers, so this question must be answered in accordance with the normal Laws of the Game.

Yes, any other player must play the ball before the goalkeeper may touch it again with her hands. If the goalkeeper touches it with her hands, the correct restart is an indirect free kick for the opposing team from the place where the infringement occurred. (If this was within the goal area, then it must be from that place on the goal area line that is nearest to the place where the infringement occurred.)

Leave a Reply