With the right wind conditions could a goal keeper with a strong arm from his own penalty area throw a ball into the opponents net and score?

USSF answer (March 18, 2008):
Unless the rules of the competition specify otherwise — see, for example, the USYSA rules for small-sided soccer — a goalkeeper may either kick or throw the ball directly into the other team’s goal.

US Youth Soccer Official Under 10 Under 12 Playing Recommendations notes under Law 12 – Fouls and Misconduct: Conform to FIFA with the exception that an indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team at the center spot on the halfway line if a goalkeeper punts or drop-kicks the the ball in the air from his/her penalty area into the opponents penalty area. This still allows the goalkeeper’s distribution for the ball to be punted the entire length of the field; it just cannot go directly into the opponents’ penalty area.

There is currently no rule against the goalkeeper throwing the ball the length of the field and scoring, but this will be discussed during preparations for the next edition of the USYS rules.

Leave a Reply