In a match, one team secured the goal and referee gave goal whistle. Afterwards, he forthwith came to know from the outside persons that actually ball was touched by the player’s hand and then it was entered in goal net. Before start of the game again, referee took back his decision of goal and called the player and showed him “yellow card” as he didn’t reveal this fact. Question is that can a referee take back his decision of goal if he come to know from the public that he has given a wrong decision.

USSF answer (November 25, 2009):
The referee should not accept information from anyone other than his assistant referees or fourth official. However, if the referee had received this information from one of the assistant referees or the fourth official, then, yes, he could deny the goal, caution the player, and restart with a direct free kick from the place where the infringement occurred.

Leave a Reply