On a penalty kick; the shooter is ready to take the kick, just as he is about to kick it his teamate commits a foul by running into the penalty area before the shooter makes contact with the ball… He shoots the ball, it goes in the goal but the point is not rewarded because of the foul commited by the teamate. Is appropriate restart of play a Indirect free kick from where the foul was commited, a goal kick or do they just retake the kick???

USSF answer (September 2, 2008):
What you describe as a “foul” is not a foul; it is a violation of the procedures for the taking of a penalty kick. In this particular case, Law 14 (The Penalty Kick) tells us that if a team-mate of the player taking the kick infringes the Laws of the Game:
• the referee allows the kick to be taken
• if the ball enters the goal, the kick is retaken
• if the ball does not enter the goal, the referee stops play and the match is restarted with an indirect free kick to the defending team, from the place where the infringement occurred.

Leave a Reply