Is it a foul if an opposing player waits outside the goal box and jumps up and into the goalie’s punt, landing within the goal box and within 1 foot of the goalie? If so, is that worthy of a yellow or red card?

USSF answer (June 2, 2008):
No player is allowed to interfere with the goalkeeper’s ability to put the ball back into general play. The referee should stop play and restart with an indirect free kick for the goalkeeper’s team from the place where the infringement occurred. (Please remember the special circumstances for restarts after infringements occurring within the goal area.) If the opponent makes contact with the goalkeeper, the restart would be a direct free kick and possibly a caution or send-off, depending on the nature of the infringement and contact. In all cases, the referee might consider warning the player that this action borders on unsporting behavior.

Leave a Reply