#1 – A recent game an attacker was moving towards the goal. A defender comes up and in the trying to play the ball simply got in the attackers way. The attacker runs into the defender and knocks him down, but is able to keep going of course at the protest of the defender. I didn’t see the attackers arm come up or I would have called it, but was I correct in letting “play continue”?

#2 – This one I am more curious about if you only have time to answer one and it’s the one I’m almost embarrassed to ask. My quick question is: What is the call(if any) when an attacker is driving towards the goal, gets a shot off to the goal, but right after is tripped and hits the ground. The goalie now has the ball and the attacker was able to get a shot on goal. I guess I’m asking the “after the play” call. In normal field of play I know it would be a trip call if said attacker lost the advantage,but am curious about after a shot on goal.

Thank you very much for your site and helping us in yellow ask questions freely.

USSF answer (October 12, 2010):
1. Under normal circumstances a player is entitled to the space he or she occupies on the field and may not be run over or otherwise disturbed by an opponent. However, if the “occupying” player has essentially thrown him- or herself into the path of the oncoming opponent, all entitlements are off, because the “occupying” player has not exercised due care in positioning him- or herself. If you invoked the advantage, even without voicing it, you were correct and the defender has no right to complain. In fact, if the act went beyond careless and moved into reckless, a caution for unsporting behavior would be the right decision (at the next stoppage).

2. The referee need not immediately voice any advantage given, particularly in the case of a shot on goal. If the shot is unsuccessful, then the referee should stop play and award the free kick appropriate to the foul or misconduct committed.