This happened in a U9 boys game.

Ball is shot to the goalie, who mishandles it. The ball bounces off of the post and rebounds toward middle of the goal. Before any part of the ball crosses the line the goalie dives on the ball. His momentum carries his legs into the box but NOT the ball (the ball never crosses the line). The referee says that it is a goal because the goalie is an extension of the ball and his legs went into the goal.

Was the referee correct?

USSF answer (September 15, 2008):
Inventive referees seem to be multiplying by leaps and bounds. No, there is no such rule and the referee was wrong to award a goal based on that reasoning.

Leave a Reply