The referee blows her whistle for the opening kick-off, but instead of kicking the ball, the red attacker runs across the center circle and violently strikes a blue opponent who does not retaliate. The referee quickly intervenes and sends off the red attacker. As a result the red team must play shorthanded for the entire game.

USSF answer (August 26, 2011):
Is this a statement or a question? If it is a statement, then it is incorrect. If it is a question, then the answer is no, the team does not play shorthanded. Because the game does not begin until the ball is put in play, the red attacker may be replaced by a named substitute; the team thus maintains its starting eleven, but loses a named substitute.