during play a substitute player came onto the filed of play and disaollowed an obvious goal scoring oppurtunity in the penalty area .what should be the referee’s decision…….and if that happens to be the substitute goal keeper by disallowing that goal with his hands in the penalty area.
USSF answer (April 8, 2009):
Yes, this can be done. According to the IFAB/FIFA Q&A 2006-07, Law 3:
13. A substitute, warming up behind his own goal, enters the field of play and prevents the ball entering the goal with his foot. What action does the referee take?
The referee stops play, cautions the substitute for unsporting behavior and the match is restarted with an indirect free kick to the opposing team where the ball was when play was stopped *.
13.1. If the player prevents the goal with his hand, what action does the referee take?
The referee stops play and sends-off the substitute for denying the opposing team a goal by deliberately handling the ball and the match is restarted with an indirect free kick to the opposing team where the ball was when play was stopped *.
The answer is also found in FIFA training materials from 2006:
Denying a Goal or a Goal-Scoring Opportunity
It is not necessary that the offense which denies an opponent an obvious goal-scoring opportunity be a direct free kick foul
– It could be an indirect free kick foul (dangerous play)
– It could also be misconduct
• Example: goalkeeper bends the crossbar down far enough that the ball does not go into the net
• Example: a substitute illegally enters the field and trips an attacker who has a clear shot on goal
• Example: a defender uses the shoulders of a teammate to lift himself higher to head the ball away