I have a question regarding Law 4, specifically as it pertains to shinguards. It is probably easiest to present a scenario and ask for your respone. For example, a player places socks on, shinguards placed on over socks, sock pulled down completely over shinguards and tucked into the shoes. This seems to me that, assuming the shinguards are constructed of a suitable material, and covered entirely by stockings and still provide a reasonable degree of protection this would indeed comply with law 4 of the FIFA Laws of the Game. I would appreciate any further clarification of this rule. Thanks for your time and attention to this matter.
Answer (September 27, 2007):
As you describe it, the shinguards are not covered by the socks within the meaning of the Law. They must be placed totally beneath the socks to comply with Law 4.