Situation inside six yard box, forward driving towards goal was cut off by defense and attempted to turn out and back , a defender CHARGED into her from behind then in a continuous motion and gave a 2-handed shove,straight out with enough force to knock her down. She was struck from behind at shoulder blade height and with enough force to send her flying over the ball and to the ground! No foul was called and Ref said it was Legal.??? I say Law 12 was broke?

USSF answer (April 30, 2009):
Coach, provided that the situation was precisely as you describe it, the defender should have been sent off for violent conduct — or for serious foul play if the referee believed that the defender was challenging for the ball, which doesn’t sound likely in this case. Penalty kick restart.

Leave a Reply