A substitute is warming up behind the goal.His team’s keeper makes a mistake playing up field out of the penalty area. The opponent, seeing a wide open goal, kicks the ball directly towards goal, The ball OBVIOUSLY heading in the goal is kicked away by the sub that was warming up who ran onto the field.What do you do to the sub and what is the restart?

USSF answer (August 4, 2008):
Law 3 tells us:

Substitute or a substituted player: If a substituted or a substituted player enters the field of play without permission- the referee must stop play (although not immediately if the player in question does not interfere with play or if the advantage can be applied)- the referee must caution him for unsporting behavior- the player shall leave the field of play. If the referee stops play, it must be restarted with an indirect free kick for the opposing team from the position of the ball when play was stopped (see Law 13 — Position of Free Kick).

In addition to the caution for unsporting behavior for entering the field of play without the referee’s permission, the referee could consider cautioning the substitute or unsporting behavior for kicking the ball away, leading directly to a sending-off for a second caution in the same game.

Leave a Reply