In a recent game in England, player Diamenti (of Aston Villa?) strode to take a penalty kick and placed his right foot near the ball when it skidded at the ball. His left foot struck the ball and it appeared that the ball was hit by two feet into the goal. The referee awarded the goal.
On play back it was seen that Diamenti’s left foot (his kicking foot) impacted the ball first and in the briefest period of time possible off his slipped right foot. (Naturally, Diamenti ended up on his back.)
Without replays in slow motion the referee was as puzzled as the fans as to what happened.
Is it permitted to take a penalty kick with two feet striking the ball at the same instant, and why not?
USSF answer (October 1, 2009):
According to the Interpretations of the Laws of the Game and Guidelines for Referees:
LAW 13 – FREE KICKS
A free kick can be taken by lifting the ball with a foot or both feet simultaneously.