Hi! I am a grade nine referee.I have a question concerning u8 soccer, I believe the rule is that a goalie is not allowed to punt the ball over the half line, correct? But in the case that this did happen, what would the correct call be, and where would a kick take place?

USSF answer (October 4, 2010):
Unless the rules of the competition specify otherwise — see, for example, the USYSA rules for small-sided soccer — a goalkeeper may either kick or throw the ball directly into the other team’s goal.

US Youth Soccer Official Under 10 and Under 12 Playing Recommendations notes under Law 12 – Fouls and Misconduct: Conform to FIFA with the exception that an indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team at the center spot on the halfway line if a goalkeeper punts or drop-kicks the ball IN THE AIR into the opponents’ penalty area. (Emphasis added.) This still allows the goalkeeper’s distribution for the ball to be punted the entire length of the field; it just cannot go directly into the opponents’ penalty area.

There is currently no rule against the goalkeeper throwing the ball the length of the field and scoring.

It could be that your local rules say what you tell us, but we suggest you check with the local authorities to be certain.