I continue to value the advice presented on your website-and I’m delighted that it will continue beyond the demise of drix.net to offer the value it continues to provide all involved in our game.

Having said that, I’m perplexed by a situation I saw a few days ago on an overseas game, and would like guidance on dealing with this situation here in the US.

Here is a clip of the situation: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1qNHZQs1-YU

As you can see, the Boca Juniors forward seems to hold on to the crossbar briefly-impossible to tell whether it’s to keep himself from hitting it, or as an attempt to hold himself upright. I vaguely remember this as an IFK and a caution for unsporting behavior.Your thoughts?

USSF answer (February 4, 2008):
We will let others judge which of the alternatives the Boca Juniors forward is pursuing. But we will give them something to work with. A call by the referee for punishment would have required total confidence and absolute iron will by the referee, who would appear not to have had much assistance from the assistant, who was behind play.

If, in the opinion of the referee, the player used the crossbar to make it easier for him to play the ball, he has committed unsporting behavior and must be cautioned and shown the yellow card. The restart would be an indirect free kick to the opposing team from the place where the infringement occurred (keeping in mind the requirements of Law 8).

If, in the opinion of the referee, the player was hanging from the goalpost simply to avoid injury to himself or to other players, there was no infringement of the Law.

Leave a Reply