We had a situation this morning in a championship game of a tournament. The game was tied after regulation of this U-13 girls game and went to two-10 minute “sudden death” overtime periods.

At the end of the 2nd overtime period, one of our players broke away and was 5 yards ahead of the defender and entered the penalty box when the ref blew the whistle to end the overtime–and onto penalty kicks.

Who knows if she scores , or not.

I have observed three or four matches during the games of three of my kids over the years where the ref blows the whistle to end a half or a game immediately following a goal and I was always told that refs will allow an “advantage” situation to play out.

Which philosophy is right if there is no rule about this.

USSF answer (July 22, 2009):
Many referees realize that the Laws of the Game (the rules we all play by, except in college or high school) allow the referee to be the judge of when time must be added and when the proper amount of time has elapsed.  Most referees will wait until the ball is in a “neutral” area before saying “time is up” and ending a period.  Some, restricted rules of particular competition or by their lack of knowledge of the Laws, will not.  However, when we say that time is up, that means that the referee has made all necessary allowances for time lost.  The only exception one might make would be when the ball is in the air heading toward goal and only the laws of physics and the skill of the goalkeeper will determine if a goal is scored or not.

We must add that “sudden death” (also known as “golden goal”) is not a permitted method of deciding a game.

Leave a Reply