Hello I am a new referee and was watching a game where a state referee and president of the soccer league that the teams play for when he red carded a coach when He was not the referee or a.r of the current game I did not know this is legal is it?

USSF answer (January 27, 2009):
No, this was not proper procedure. No person, whether a referee or administrator, is allowed to send off players or show red cards if he or she is not the referee on that game. What that referee did is abuse of his power, clear and simple. Worse, it is wrongful abuse of power and should be reported to the state referee administration and to the state soccer association. Please do so as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply