In the ManCity-Swansea match, around the 83rd minute, a ball is played off a City player and is heading toward his own goal line, in danger of giving a corner kick (the ball was not a pass played backward by City, only a deflection. Also, no Swansea player was in the near the goal line, and the ball was about 8 yards away from goal). The City goalkeeper, in an effort not to give up a corner kick, knocks the ball with his hands to keep it in play. The ball bounces but does not touch another plaeyr, and then the keeper picks it up in the penalty box. Is this an example of a parry and an illegal touch, because of the deliberate action of a touching the ball with the hand and then another deliberate touch?

USSF answer (August 18, 2011):
No, it’s an example of a parry and a legal touch. If, in the opinion of the referee, the ‘keeper’s motivation was solely to keep the ball from leaving the field for a corner kick, it was a legal play. The fact that the goalkeeper gained a serendipitous advantage is irrelevant. There was no true control or possession, so there was no infringement of the Law.